STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math)

During the summer, we offer a fun camp experience that includes BrainGain: Activities developed by educational experts for Boys & Girls Clubs of America aimed at preventing summer learning loss.

Brain Gain incorporates an exciting hands-on learning model into each day’s...

Contact: Sabrina Garcelon Phone: 9787440915 Email: sgarcelon@bgcgs.org

NEAq staff provide high-quality STEM outreach programs, funded by the Read Trust, to multiple grades throughout the Salem system.
For the 2017-18 School Year, this includes:
Grade 1: Tidepool programs in class
Grade 2: Field trip to the Aquarium
Grade 4: Engineering program in class
Grade 5: Field trip to Winter Island
Grade 7: Intertidal Ecology programs in...

Contact: Sylvia Scharf Phone: 6172262232 Email: sscharf@neaq.org

Expanding Horizons is a high quality after-school enrichment program offered to all middle school students in the district.  Our progam also includes homework and academic supports, free snack and free transportation to and home from the program!   All enrichment programs are project based and fun with a purpose, while also being infused with college and career connections.



Contact: Meghan Murtagh Phone: (978) 740-6667 (x103) Email: mmurtagh@leap4ed.org

Moms, dads, grandparents, guardians and their children are welcome! Our Playgroups are designed to help families support their child’s social, emotional and cognitive development and to foster early literacy development. Families will be engaged in books, songs, fun S.T.E.A.M. science, technology, engineering, art and math activities and play.  Each family will receive a free children’s book...

Contact: Debra Wonson Phone: 978-745-5931 Email: debrawonson@salemk12.org

Junior Camps are for children entering grades 4 and 5. Group size is 32, and there is at least a 1:4 staff-to-camper ratio.
The Aquarium’s Senior Camps are for children entering grades 6 or 7. Group size is 32, with at least a 1:4 staff-to-camper ratio.
The Aquarium’s Advanced Camps are for those entering grades 8 and 9. Special two-week programs are also available to rising 10th-...

Contact: Phone: Email: harbordiscoveries@neaq.org

A school program to support teachers in bringing science alive and making it meaningful to students. Using local habitats and current events SSCW connects students to their community. From exploring the saltmarsh to understanding the most recent city engineering project, SSCW makes science relevant. Options for teachers include classroom activites and events, field experiences...

Contact: Emily Flaherty Phone: 978-741-7900 Email: emilyflaherty@salemsound.org

The live blue™ Ambassador program is a service learning program for teens ages 14 to 18 who are interested in serving the Aquarium’s mission beyond the walls of the Aquarium.



Contact: Lucy Indge Phone: Email: lindge@neaq.org

We inspire wonder, understanding, and connection to the natural world through playful, outdoor scientific inquiry.

We envision communities that celebrate, understand, and protect the ecosystems to which we belong.



Contact: Jessica Kagle Phone: 6172902258 Email: jessica@kestreleducation.org